Report of the Secretary Presented at the 48th Annual General Body Meeting of Indian Phytopathological Society at P.A.U., Ludhiana, February 16, 1996.

I have great pleasure in welcoming you all to the 48th Annual General Body Meeting of the Society and presenting to you the Annual Report for 1995. It is indeed heartening to note that apart from 4 Award Lectures, 21 papers were received for National Symposium on "Management of Threatening Plant Diseases of National Importance", out of which 9 speakers presented their papers during this meeting. This year 120 papers were received for Poster Session and only 75 were presented.

The Society is grieved to inform that three of our renowned plant pathologists, Drs. J.G. Horsfall, Harnam Singh and C.B.P. Mishra left for their heavenly abode. We express our heartful condolences to the bereaved families and may God rest their souls in peace.

"In this Annual Meeting, the Society organised three Award lectures. We are extremely grateful to Dr. (Mrs.) D. Lalitha Kumari for delivering Prof. S.N. Dasgupta Memorial Lecture; Dr. Dinesh Kumar for Mundkur Memorial Lecture; Dr. M. Wajid Khan for Jeersannidhi Memorial Lecture. The topics were well chosen and would be valuable source of reference when printed in Indian Phytopathology. Dr. R.A. Singh could not deliver Prof. M.S. Pavgi Award Lecture due to some unavoidable circumstances.

A total number of members as on 31st Dec., stands 1532 excluding 235 subscribers. During 1995, 71 new members joined the Society while 90 did not renew their membership so far and I earnestly request them to please clear the dues as soon as possible. During 1995, 187 manuscripts were received for publication and 111 papers were published in Indian Phytopathology Vol. 48. Due to painstaking efforts of Chief Editor and Editor, we have published 3 numbers of 1995 and number 4 is in press. The members are happy with the standard and timely publication of the journal.

I am glad to announce that research paper of Drs. R.P. Awasthi and S.J. Kolte on "Epidemiological factors in relation to development of Alternaria blight of rapeseed and mustard" published in Indian Phytopathology Vol. 47:395-399 (1994) has been adjudged as best. Two poster papers viz. "Effect of soil solarisation on Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. carthami populations in endemic soils", by Drs. R. Kalpana Sastry and C. Chattopadhyay and "Mechanism of combat between biocontrol agents and plant pathogens" by Drs. Rashmi Aggarwal, K.D. Srivastava and D.V. Singh have been jointly recommeded for IPS Medal Award for best poster paper. In addition, those of Drs. Y.D. Narayana, R. Bandhopadhyay, D.R. Butler, P.K. Reddy and J.M. Lewne ("Effect of temperature and leaf wetness periods on infection of Sorghum by Colletotrichum graminicola") and H.S. Randhawa, Matinder Singh and K.S. Aulakh ("Effect of temperature and light on the growth of different isolates of Tolvposporium pennicillarae") have been recommended for Commendation Certificates. Congratulations to all the above contributors.

This year three young scientists have participated in Prof. M.J. Narasimhan Academic Award Contest. I have great pleasure to announce that Judges have decided to award the medal to Dr. Ashok Bhattacharya for his work on "Induction of resistance in rice plant against sheath blight with non conventional chemicals and changes in enzyme activity and total phenolic content in the induced plants".

Several recommendations were made in the

[Vol. 49(4) 1996]

Executive Council Meeting which are put for your kind consideration and approval:

The life membership fee should be raised from Rs. 1500/- to Rs. 2500/- with 3 years continuous membership keeping in view of the rising cost of printing.

The Annual membership fee should be raised from Rs. 100/- to Rs. 150/- and for students from Rs. 85/- to Rs. 100/-.

A sum of Rs. 500/- was also proposed for F.P.S.I. fee as against Rs. 150 earlier.

Applications of 71 Scientists for admission as member of Indian Phytopathological Society were approved.

Twenty one members of IPS namely Drs. G. Bagyanarayana, V.B. Bidari, S.R. Das, Daya Ram, R.C. Dubey, S.K. Dwivedi, S.S. Gnanamanickam, D.K. Gupta, Alok Kalra, V. Krishna Rao, D. Lalitha Kumari, D.K. Mitra, R. Chandra Mohan, A. Naseema, Rajendra Prasad, K.S. Ramaiah, D.M. Sawant, Indu Sharma, V.K. Sheila, Kuldip Singh and R.S. Singh were admitted as Fellows of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI).

After a detailed discussion, it was decided to nominate the following persons for various Lecture Awards for 1996:

- (a) Mundkur Memorial Lecture Dr. V.N. Pathak
- (b) Jeersannidhi Lecture Dr. B.M. Singh
- (c) Prof. M.S. Pavgi Lecture Dr. L.V. Gangawane
- (d) Prof. S.N. Dasgupta Lecture Dr. K.A. Balasubramanian

The following persons were elected and nominated for Executive Council, 1996.

President - Dr. A.N. Mukhopadhyay; President - Elect - Dr. C.D. Mayee; Secretary - Dr. Dharam Vir Singh; Joint Secretary - Dr. K.D. Srivastava; Treasurer - Dr. D.K. Agarwal; Chief Editor - Dr. A.K. Sarbhoy; Editor - Dr. Mahendra Pal; Zonal Presidents and Councillors - Dr. D.K. Mitra and Mr. Birendra Singh (Delhi); Dr. R.A. Singh and Dr. B.P. Singh (Northern); Dr. M.M. Alam and Dr. M.A. Siddiqui (Mid Eastern); Dr. B.N. Chakraborty and Dr. Usha Chakraborty (Eastern); Dr. R.C. Rajak and Dr. Jamaluddin (Central); Dr. D.S. Mukadam and Dr. J.B. Deshpande (Western); Dr. R.V. Hiremath and Dr. N.K. Patil (Southern).

It was decided that the Society should revive the supply and sale of the coloured slides of important diseases of various crops as a teaching aids as per the order placed by different institutions or individuals. The modalities should be worked out by the Chief Editor with the consultation of Editorial Board.

The suggestions of Chief Editor was unanimously accepted to invite advertisements for the journal to generate the funds for the Society. The cost of the advertisement will be Rs. 5,000/- for full page and Rs. 3,000/- for half page.

It was decided to sponsor 9th International Confernce on Plant Pathogenic Bacteria which is going to be held at the University of Madras on August 26-29, 1996 by I.P.S. without any financial commitment.

The E.C. has nominated Dr. E. Muller (Switzerland) and Dr. H.K. Saksena (Kanpur) as Honorary Fellows of Indian Phytopathological Society.

It was decided to raise the salary of the 3 part time staff members at the Headquarter w.e.f., 1st January, 1996 as follows :-

- (i) From Rs. 450/- to Rs. 550/-.
- (ii) From Rs. 325/- to Rs. 400/-.
- (iii) From Rs. 200/- to Rs. 250/-.

It was decided that the above pay structure will continue for three consecutive years.

We are grateful to the Indian Council of Agricultural Research for the grant of Rs. 40,000 for the publication of Indian Phytopathology, 1995.

414 Indian Phytopathology

I wish to express my sincere gratitude to Dr. V.P. Agnihotri, our President for his guidance and advice in day to day functioning and critical matters of the Society. It is my prime duty to thank all the members of the Executive Council for their cooperation, advice, support and suggestions in various matters.

Finally, I take this opportunity to thank each and every member of the staff of Headquarter who worked ceaselessly throughout the year for smooth running of the Society affairs. Thank you all for attending the Annual Meeting.

(D.V. Singh)

Secretary